Bug 1819 - Deleting locked messages opens preview pane if not open
Summary: Deleting locked messages opens preview pane if not open
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Claws Mail
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UI (show other bugs)
Version: 3.7.2
Hardware: PC Linux
: P3 normal
Assignee: users
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2009-01-09 13:33 CET by Abhay S. Kushwaha
Modified: 2012-11-19 08:09 CET (History)
0 users

See Also:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Abhay S. Kushwaha 2009-01-09 13:33:09 CET
I have the message preview pane closed and a message that is locked. I select that message and right-click to select Delete... Claws mail asks me if I really want to delete the message. I say "Delete". But because the message is locked, it is not deleted. However, in the attempt to delete, realising it's locked, and then reselecting the message, something causes the preview pane to become visible.

Desired behaviour:
Preview pane, if closed, should remain closed.
Comment 1 Abhay S. Kushwaha 2009-07-29 10:31:31 CEST
This does not happen if you use keyboard to try and delete it, only when you right-click and select delete from the context menu or from the Message menu drop-down.
Comment 2 Abhay S. Kushwaha 2009-07-29 11:46:34 CEST
This happens in linux as well.
Comment 3 Paul 2009-07-29 17:50:24 CEST
> This happens in linux as well.

No, it doesn't. But, of course, double-clicking the msg opens it in a separate window, as it should.
Comment 4 Abhay S. Kushwaha 2009-07-29 18:09:41 CEST
It happens for me on Claws Mail 3.7.2cvs15 running on Ubuntu 8.04
Comment 5 Paul 2009-07-29 18:18:11 CEST
just tested on ubuntu 8.10, and I can't reproduce it there either.
... you're sure you're not double-clicking it??
Comment 6 Colin Leroy 2009-07-29 20:14:49 CEST
Can't reproduce either (tried Move to trash and Delete).
Comment 7 Abhay S. Kushwaha 2012-02-09 06:38:53 CET
Paul/Colin, you will not be able to replicate this if you have selected "Never" in Preferences -> Display -> Summaries -> Message List -> Open message when selected

If you have "When message view is visible" selected, then on an attempted deletion of a locked message, the message view should remain closed. CM currently opens it as described above.
Comment 8 Abhay S. Kushwaha 2012-11-19 08:09:00 CET
This was apparently fixed with Bug 2785. :)